5 IIITs to get ‘national importance’ tag, power to grant degrees

News | 0 comments

The IIT law bill was passed by Lok Sabha on Friday that declares that it gives ‘institutes of national importance’ to five model IITs such as IITs in Surat, Bhopal, Bhagalpur, Agartala, and Raichur. These institutions are covered under the bill of IIIT (Amendment) and this bill provides the institutions the power to grant the degrees.

Now the bill has passed into laws and the reputed institutions will be able to grant degrees such as Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech.), Master of Technology (M.Tech.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), etc.

Impact of the move

The move is, of course, significant. The bill amends the IIIT Act, 2014, as well as the IIIT (Public-Private Partnership) Act, 2017. It is introduced by Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ by the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The bill is significant as it expected to attract enough students which develop a strong base in the field of Information Technology in India.

Currently, 20 IITs are established under the PPP model amongst 25 IITs. The PPP model is renowned as a Private Public Partnership. 15 IITs already achieved the permission to grant degrees under the IIIT PPP Act, 2017. The 20 private institutions in total will have the power of granting degrees if the amendment act will become a law. 

The minister states the PPP model as a beautiful model while addressing the Lok Sabha. He also added that the PPP model, which is being developed for the first time with the participation of the states, the Centre and industries, will develop and help impart training to students. 

(Visited 13 times, 1 visits today)

Related Articles

Quick Enquiry